# LICENSING ACT COMMITTEE

2.00 P.M. 16TH JUNE 2016

PRESENT: Councillors Terrie Metcalfe (Chairman), Sam Armstrong, June Ashworth,

Alan Biddulph, Claire Cozler, Mel Guilding, Abi Mills and Susan Sykes.

Councillor Roger Sherlock arrived at the conclusion of the meeting.

Apologies for Absence:

Councillors Stuart Bateson, Karen Leytham, Sylvia Rogerson,

Nicholas Wilkinson and Paul Woodruff

Officers in Attendance:

Luke Gorst Solicitor

Jane Glenton Democratic Support Officer

### 1 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman requested nominations for the position of Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

It was proposed by Councillor Ashworth and seconded by Councillor Guilding:

"That Councillor Edwards be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17."

There being no further nominations, the Chairman declared the proposal to be carried.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Edwards be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

## 2 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 3<sup>rd</sup> December 2015 were signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

### 3 ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS AUTHORISED BY THE CHAIRMAN

There were no items of urgent business.

#### 4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

### 5 CHAIRMEN OF LICENSING ACT SUB-COMMITTEES

The Committee received the report of the Licensing Manager to enable Members to make arrangements for the chairing of Licensing Act Sub-Committees during the forthcoming municipal year.

The procedure for establishing Sub-Committees to deal with hearings under the Licensing Act 2003 had been agreed at the Committee's meeting on 14<sup>th</sup> February 2005, when the Chairman and Vice-Chairman and three other named members had been appointed as Chairmen of the Sub-Committees. Each ad hoc Sub-Committee would include one of these members, who would act as the Chairman.

It was reported that, due to the reduced demand for Sub-Committee hearings over the past few years, only three Chairmen had been nominated in 2015/16.

It was proposed by Councillor Sykes and seconded by Councillor Armstrong:

- "(1) That there be a total of three Chairmen of the ad hoc Licensing Act Sub-Committees in 2016/17, comprising the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee and one other named Member, and that each ad hoc Sub-Committee includes one of these three Members, who acts as Chairman.
- (2) That the one other Chairman of the ad hoc Sub-Committees be Councillor Cozler."

Upon being put to the vote, Members voted unanimously in favour of the proposition, whereupon the Chairman declared the proposal to be clearly carried.

### Resolved:

- (1) That there be a total of three Chairmen of the ad hoc Licensing Act Sub-Committees in 2016/17, comprising the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee and one other named Member, and that each ad hoc Sub-Committee includes one of these Members, who acts as Chairman.
- (2) That the one other Chairman of the ad hoc Sub-Committees be Councillor Cozler.

Councillor Sherlock arrived at this point in the meeting.

Chairman

(The meeting ended at 2.07 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these Minutes, please contact
Jane Glenton, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582068 or email
jglenton@lancaster.gov.uk